It bothers me.

Horrible things are happening in the world everyday. There is so much good, but I guess its easier to remember and be affected by the bad.
As it stands, your world is at home with us, your mum and dad. You spend the days watching baby Jake on telly with mumma, or out visiting our friends and family under my close supervision. Most afternoons you play games and giggle with daddy when he gets home from work.
You do cry, but only when you’re hungry or tired. At night you’re tucked up, safely in your crib, dreaming about wonderful things, resting your little body for the next day of adventure.
I’ve come to realise it wont always be like this. You won’t always be my little, happy baby under my watchful eye. You will one day have to grow up and will become part of the rest of the world. And you will be exposed to it all.The good and the bad.
It bothers me that I can only do so much to protect you. It bothers me that I can teach you how to behave, how to be smart and make good decisions and sometimes, this won’t be enough to prevent you from being hurt.
if it was the best thing for you I’d keep you with me always, sitting in my imaginary pocket, safe and warm, close to my heart. But I can’t. As you get older, you will have to slowly venture further and further away from me… It’s only natural… even if it feels anything but natural for me.
Do me a favour and remember what is really important. Do all you can to make your life amazing. Live to be happy and make others happy. After all…Its all any of us can do.